Serial Podcast Episode 1 Thoughts

 

4221396001_4739442473001_4739182522001-vs

So I just finished watching the first episode of the Serial podcast and I though1415888531403_wps_9_a_undated_photo_of_murdert that is was really good.

Serial is a podcast about Sarah Koeing, a journalist, who investigates the murder of Hae Min Lee, an 18-year-old from Woodlawn Highschool in 1999. Hae’s ex-boyfriend, Adnan Syed, was convicted of the murder and throughout the series, Sarah tries to prove Adnan’s innocence.

I found the first episode of the series very interesting. The podcast starts off with Koeing asking a question about whether you can remember what you exactly did 6 weeks ago on a Wednesday and what if your ability to remember determines your future. This one answer to the question has lead Syed’s life to prison.

The answer to the question is nearly impossible. I tried thinking back that for and cannot come up with anything. This really made me realize how easily we forget things and made me very aware of everything I do.

The podcast is narrated from Koeing’s point of view and she tells the listeners about everything that he does and experiences through her journey. She starts off introducing the case to the audience and also tells us about the arguments of both sides of the case. Later, as the story continued, she starts investigating and searches for clues to try to save Adnan.

The episode was very suspenseful and felt like a murder mystery story. Since it was narrated from Koeing, it felt as if we were learning and experiences with her. She also gave the audience the clues from both sides of the story so it that you can learn the clues yourself and conclude your opinions on whether Adnan is innocent or not. Throughout the entire episode, I was at the edge of my seat and in suspense of what is going to happen next.

One thing that I really liked about  Serial was that it was a podcast. Unlike books or movies, where you have to sit down and concentrate on the media, podcasts allow you to do other things while listing to it. For example, I was listening to it while driving my car and kept me entertained whiled being able to concentrate on the road.

Overall, I would recommend the Serial podcast to anyone. I was thoroughly entertained in the first episode and cannot wait to listen to episode 2!

 

Sources

Image 1

Image 2

Leave a Reply

